top of page
Recent Posts

Cape Cod Sunroom: From Concept to Reality!

One of my all-time favorite styles to design is coastal, so of course I was thrilled to take a break from thinking about winter in order to revamp a Cape Cod sunroom into a warm and cozy coastal retreat!

The room already had beautiful bones – tons of natural light and gorgeous paned windows that added just a touch of character. It really didn’t need a whole lot to be really stunning, so naturally, I started with paint! Prior to hiring me, my client had already chosen Squire Hill Buff, a nice sandy color from Benjamin (which I must admit I was very excited about).

Sunroom before

I came up with a concept board to showcase the basic ideas I had for the space. The client already had some amazing antique occasional pieces, so I built the design around those existing items.

Concept board

During the design process my client got to painting, and let me tell you, with just new paint, it was an immediate transformation. Something I’d like to note: hypothetically, even if paint were the only thing in this client’s budget, it would have made an enormous difference. While sometimes a room calls for a complete renovation, other times, a small change can really go a long way.

Once the paint was finished it was finally time to move in the furniture (after 3 months of waiting…gotta love that custom work!) Because my client preferred to keep things masculine, subtle and not in-your-face beachy, I decided to keep things simple with a classic navy and white color scheme. I also stuck to mostly solids with accents of a classic stripe and just one small seashell pattern for accessories.

navy and white color scheme

My client and I both agreed that this color palette would also work nicely with his existing occasional tables. The warmer red tones in the wood contrasted nicely with the cooler colors of the furniture, but also worked well with the warm, sandy wall.

My favorite part about every project is collaborating with my clients to create their perfect space. No two people are the same and hardly ever share the same creative vision. The excitement of my job is successfully combing my vision with the wants and needs of the people who will live with it every day.

Design is so much more than just pretty furniture and accessories. Having a beautiful, put-together home is an extension of the people who inhabit it so it should be comfortable, functional, and most importantly, personal.

This was such a beautiful transformation and I’m so thrilled to have been able to please another happy client!

Sunroom after
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page